Board of Supervisors

Elaine Gelber

(530) 621-5651

Placerville, CA - At its August 24, 2016 meeting, the El Dorado Local Agency Formation Commission nominated Shiva Frentzen to be elected to the Board of Directors  of the California Association of Local Agency Formation Commissions (CALAFCO). On Thursday, October 27, 2016, members of the CALAFCO Central Region elected Shiva to serve as their representative of the CALAFCO Board of Directors. She will serve as the only county representative for the 19 counties in the Central Region, spanning from Placer to the north to Kern in the south. Shiva's term on the CALAFCO Board will be a little shy of two years in length and will expire in September 2018.


"It is a privilege to be elected by our neighboring LAFCO members to represent the Central Region on the CALAFCO Board. I look forward to continuing to represent our County at the state level  and work with participating counties to f u r t h e r impact legislation in order to improve local LAFCOs."


Shiva Frentzen


Supervisor Shiva Frentzen represents the second supervisorial district in El Dorado County. The district is in the southern portion of the County, stretching from Latrobe in the west to Grizzly Flat in the east. In addition, the district includes parts of Cameron Park and El Dorado Hills.  The Supervisor was first elected to the El Dorado County Board of Supervisors in 2014 during a special election. In June, she was reelected to a four year term ending January 2021. Prior to serving on the El Dorado County Board of Supervisors, Shiva was the Cameron Park Community Services District Board Director. Shiva has been a resident in Cameron Park for 24 years.  


CALAFCO was established in 1971 to assist members in fulfilling their duties to coordinate the orderly formation and development of governmental agencies and services. Key services include facilitating information sharing among members by organizing annual conferences and workshops as well as providing technical assistance through training classes. CALAFCO also serves as a resource to the Legislature and actively drafts and reviews new legislation. CALAFCO is divided into four geographic regions for purposes of elections; Central; Coastal; Northern; and Southern. Each region is responsible for electing four members to serve on the 16-member CALAFCO Board with representation from city, county, special district, and public member positions.

About El Dorado LAFCO

El Dorado LAFCO is responsible for the preservation of agricultural land and open space; for the prevention of urban sprawl through coordinating logical and timely changes in local governmental boundaries; for conducting special studies which review ways to reorganize, simplify, and streamline governmental structure; and for the efficient delivery of services by each city and special district within the county.